Getting Started

I recently decided that I should have a blog to share my pearls of wisdom with friends and family and anybody else lucky enough to happen on this blog. There will be a number of topics, possibly including, but not limited to

  • current events and politics,
  • faith and religion,
  • concerts and plays,
  • Western civilization and contemporary culture, and
  • my fascinating doings.

This is my first experience trying to do something on WordPress, and I hope it will be enjoyable for all.

For those who don’t know me but have happily stumbled on this blog, here’s some background information about me. Please don’t jump to conclusions; as long as you’re here you might as well read a couple of posts (once I’ve made some) before deciding that I’m the best thing since sliced bread, or not.

  • I was born in 1943, and have called Marblehead (Mass.) my home all my life, so far.
  • Educated at parochial grammar and Marblehead High schools, I earned an A.B. from Georgetown, with a major in Government, and an M.A. from Duke, with a major in Political Science. At both universities, my concentration was political philosophy.
  • I worked for the IRS for 30 years and was a Selectman for Marblehead for 16 years. For the past 26 years, I have been a member of the town’s Task Force Against Discrimination.
  • In 1996 I was ordained a deacon and assigned to my hometown parish, where I still serve.
  • In the younger days, I crewed in sailboat races on family members’ boats, but for many years now, my time on the water has been as a member of the Corinthian Yacht Club Race Committee, helping to run the races in which I formerly participated.
  • I enjoy classical music and opera (and traditional folk music and some popular music of my youth), and I regularly attend concerts of the Boston Symphony and other organizations. I also am an occasional playgoer.
  • Over the past 40 years I have enjoyed sporadic travel abroad.
  • I’m a Boston Red Sox fan.

4 thoughts on “Getting Started

  1. Joe, Iwas interested in your blog message and your bio. Thanks. Do you still work on the Corinthian yacht club committee boat? If so, have you met Fritz, or Garrett Tully or. Wilson Judy? they are all my grandsons.
    Fred

    Like

  2. Thanks for commenting, Fred.

    Yes, I’m still on the CYC Race Committee, and I’ve met all three of those boat operators. Garrett drove the boat today, in fact. They’re all fine young men. You should be very proud of them. It’s dull of me not to have thought of mentioning them to you at one of our meetings.

    Like

Leave a comment